Cannot login?

a helpful hand

ID: a4u

Is / are:


Age group:

55 plus


chef/orchardist (retired)

Years active:

6 years

Preferred locations:

All Australia (full regions list)

Current bookings:

1 Mar '24 1 Mar '25

Reply rating:

5 out of 5

More information about this house sitter

Hi, My name is Derek. I'm 66, single and this is my fifth year house sitting. Currently in Melbourne until at least February (homeowners stuck in Florida), unfortunately no pets this time, only a lush garden to tend and house to keep secure.

I thought house sitting would be a great way to get to see and know more of Australia and Australians. The home owners, pets, locals, culture and geography I'm meeting continue to supply a wealth of positive experiences. It's also a pleasure to be able to help people get away in the knowledge their homes and pets are in safe, committed hands.

Skills under my belt include gardening and house maintenance as well as pool care. I have owned, as well as looked after many pets; being experienced with dogs, cats, birds, chooks, ducks, horses, guinea pigs, alpacas, a Shetland pony, poddy calves, fish, an aquarium snail and bees (a former orchard interest). I am reliable and would keep your pet's established routines as close to normal as possible.

I understand how important peace of mind is with respect to the well being of pets. As such, I keep in regular email contact with home owners regarding pets and always attach pics of their escapades. I also spend the majority of my time around the house and therefore, with your pet/s.

I am also responsible with the care and security necessary to keep a house safe and sound. I drive but don't have a car (environmental); public transport does the job. I live simply via a connection with Buddhist philosophy and practice. I don't drink or smoke.

I would consider any location in Australia - city, country town or rural. Longer sits are preferable; 4 weeks plus - but always consider shorter periods depending on location and bookings.

If you think I could be suitable, ring or text if dates fit and I'll get on line and/or phone you. I'll forward references and referee contacts when applying for positions. Thank you for your consideration.

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please:

LoginorJoin our Home Owners