Forgot password

Animal loving teacher

ID: 4ek



Is / are:


Age group:

55 plus



Preferred locations:

WA Perth South, South West

Reply rating:

5 stars

More Information

I am a very well travelled, English language university lecturer. Although I had done some housesitting previously from time to time mainly in Perth, Australia, I really fully utilised housesitting in 2015 while studying finish a Master degree at the Australian National University in Canberra and I've continued off and on from there.

(I have been fortunate enough to have found a housesit in Perth for a year beginning at the end of October, 2019, BUT I would still be interested in weekend housesits or housesits for up to two nights in especially the southern region of Perth eg Margaret River/Dunsborough/Yalliyup....not surprisingly! :) This housesit will end approx 3 Oct.)

After completing my Master degree, I went overseas and had a wonderful time housesitting in Spain and the UK, where I taught at Cambridge University over the summer. I returned to Australia and then went to Nauru Island in the South Pacific to teach refugees until Dec, 2016. I then returned to Canberra and lived there from 2017 to 2018, mostly housesitting during that time so I could work part time and write.

I moved to Perth at the end of October. I own two properties here, one I am now having to renovate and want to try to sell and the other I rent out. While establishing myself on the work front after being away around 15 years, housesitting is again proving to be a life saver!

I am so appreciative of being able to look after people's homes and pets in return for accommodation. It helped make fast tracking completing my degree a possibility in a year, which is fantastic, and in general, it's just a wonderful way to stay in places for longer periods of time than would otherwise be possible. It certainly suits my globetrotting personality, and has been giving me the chance to really crack on with my writing while seeing more of the world and sometimes teaching on-line. As I love all animals and seem to have a wonderful rapport with them, it really is a win/win.

In my time housesitting, I have looked after a wide variety of dogs, cats, horses, exotic birds, reptiles, a pig and chickens! I've helped in training a young lab, and had to give daily medication, including pills, to dogs, cats and horses. Some rescued animals in particular had personality issues reacting badly to other dogs and so on, which I coped with well. I've had to take animals occasionally to vets - one emergency, otherwise routine, fortunately all survived (most noteable was a large cross breed dog suffering from paralysis in its back legs after a tick bite - speedy intervention saved her!). I looked after two very sickly cats on medication twice a day, one who had cancer and was having treatment for some weeks.

I enjoy weeding when it comes to gardens if I have the time, as I find it very relaxing. I am also accustomed to tending/watering veggie gardens and looking after pools.

Because I love housesitting so much and take it very seriously, I am extremely conscientious and give above average attention to the houses, animals and gardens in my care as my numerous 5 star housesitting references concur. You can see some more of my references from Trusted House Sitters which is an international housesitting site, and Aussie House Sitters in my photograph section on this site or on the sites themselves- I can provide links.

I have police clearances for Australia, UK, Japan, and Oman up to 2010 for gaining permanent residency for the USA. In 2015, I had police clearances for teaching work in Canberra; in 2016, a police and Working with Vulnerable People clearance for teaching at Cambridge University and a medical and security clearance for teaching refugees on Nauru Island; then police clearances and WWVP for teaching organisations and with a Carer organisation in Canberra in 2017, for Navitas and CIT. Now I’m in Perth, I have a WA police clearance and Working with Children clearance; please ask me for scans (I’ve run out of room for adding attachments!)

I have had an on-going connection with Zanzibar, Tanzania, volunteering and organising other volunteers, as well as being the co-organiser of a project to bring 40 donated computers to a village from Oman in 2010. Also see Volunteering Zanzibar Facebook which I oversee. You can find my resume of work and life experience on Linkedin.

I look forward to hearing from you if you think we can help each other out :)


Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please

LoginorJoin our Home Owners