Cannot login?

Australia & animal-mad English family!

ID: ykc



Is / are:


Age group:

46 to 55


Engineer, Property Developers

Years active:

1 year

Preferred locations:

All Australia (full regions list)

Reply rating:

5 out of 5

More information about this house sitter

Hi there...
from three lovers of all creatures furry, feathery & scaley 🐶🐱🐰🐸🐔🐠🦜🐢

We are very lucky to be in Australia for 12 months. We are wife Moira, husband Keith & eight year old son, Luca from Chester in northern England. This is our third visit here but the first time we are able to stay for so long, & get to know areas & people better. Keith is a Plant Manager &, together with our son-in-law we've renovated a couple of houses. I'm very much the chief painter & decorator, I love interior decorating. We completed a new build before coming here, in North Wales, which is currently up for sale. It's the first we've built from scratch, a great experience (once you get over the frustration of dealing with the planning rules & regulations!) with a steep learning curve. Fantastic to see the house ‘growing’ as the build progresses.

We are keen runners/walkers & I am missing having our dog, Eve with us. Running without a dog feels very strange as I’ve had a doggy running-mate for years...it gives me something to concentrate on rather than how I’m going to get up the next hill 🏃‍♀️ I've met plenty of new dog friends while we've been here as I stop & chat to any I see when I'm out (& the owner of course) to get my daily dog 'fix'. However, walking with a dog will ALWAYS be better than running without one! We are big animal lovers, our son has been around them since he was born so is very comfortable & natural with them, but dogs have a particular hold over me. Eve is spending the year with our daughter, son-in-law, grandson, their two dogs, fish & four chickens! Regular video calls to them assure us she's not really missing us that much. We got her from a refuge in Carcassonne SW France so initial training with her had to be done in french, a language I love...being ignored in two languages didn’t do much for my ego!

We've always had at least two dogs at home, a younger one (energetic) & an older one (used to be energetic). They have always had the run of the house, furniture, beds etc, Everywhere we go they go with us (including to our house in France for many lovely holidays as they have their passports). Eve particularly enjoys snuggling up on the bed each night, she’s quite a big girl so it’s a squeeze, however we will follow whatever rules & routine you have for your pets. All of our dogs have been from rescue centres so we are very used to the challenges that can bring, although we've never had any problems with any of them, certainly nothing more than a little bit of counter surfing in the early days of them being in a new home. Given that a lot of them were strays & starving that's hardly surprising behaviour...nothing that lots of play, cuddles & kindness can’t overcome though.

We have been staying in Airbnbs & had a three-month rental in East Fremantle during the winter time. We are homeschooling Luca but he attended a Primary School for a few weeks which was a fantastic & memorable experience for him, for us also. He's a very bright & creative boy, enjoying drama 🎭 music 🎼 swimming 🏊‍♂️ & gymnastics 🤸‍♀️...in that order :) Oh, & he loves trains, lots & lots of trains 🚂 And what little boy doesn’t like Lego...

Our house in Chester is rented-out to a family relocating to the UK from South Africa & we completely understand the importance of having the right people looking after your property & pets. We are non-smokers.

We would love to stay in any part of Australia, long or short-term, preferably with animals to look after as well as the house. We would be at home all of the time should your pet prefer lots of company & cuddles.

If I've forgotten anything then please just ask. Thanks for reading 🙂

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please:

LoginorJoin our Home Owners