Login

Cannot login?
Cancel

considerate, caring and animal loving

ID: omr

Name:

Sally

Is / are:

Family

Age group:

46 to 55

Profession:

Shipping Operations Officer/Executive Assistant/former Relocation and Travel Consultant

Years active:

1 year

Preferred locations:

All Australia (full regions list)

Reply rating:

5 out of 5

More information about this house sitter

We are very considerate, capable people with experience with animals who will treat your home as if it were our own. We are fit and very handy, having raised and built under our timber 'Queenslander' that we have lovingly renovated over the years (as owner builders). We both hold Blue Cards (can text copies) therefore have current police checks through our work and volunteer roles. We are volunteer foster carers with the local RSPCA and have cared for many varied animals including the orphaned and sick. We have also hosted many travellers through the Helpex program and include some reviews (below) that will give you an insight to our character.
Our two girls love animals, and are polite and respectful and thankfully still enjoy travelling with mum and dad discovering new places. We regularly take them travelling throughout Asia and less fortunate countries to keep them thankful and appreciative of what they have in life and how lucky we are to live in Australia.
................................................................
Background:
Sally has worked in Management, Travel and Sales - since having her two daughters worked from home as a Consultant in Relocation Services, now that they are older I am an Executive Assistant in local Government. Travel has been a passion and a part of life for as long as I can remember. I left Australia in my early 20’s and after five years and two circumnavigations returned home to ‘settle down’. A continuation of a career in travel followed, with another four month trip five years later after I met my husband which resulted passing on the travel ‘bug’.
Volunteer work has been a focus the last few years since having children. I am a voracious reader and researcher who is either planning a trip, reminiscing about past trips or vicariously enjoying those of others.
David is a very proficient jack of all trades! The last 14 years he has been involved in the shipping industry as a Operations Officer after many years working in his parents business as a welder, fitter and turner and Project Manager. Flying has been a passion and he has held fixed wing private and commercial pilot’s licence, and also has licences for boat, truck and motorcycle. He received qualifications from the Australian Maritime College in Tasmania and is a Commissioned Officer spending over 11 years with the Australian Army Reserve.
..........................................................................................

reviews from our Helpex profile:
Helper: Loic and Florence
From: France
Sally, David, Phoebe and Immy thank you very much for the nice week with you !
It's a generous family with a big heart and it's a pleasure to stay with them, to speak about their travel around the world, to cook with them and share our history.
They live in a very nice place in Mackay, in a beautiful house built by them. If you want live with a great family we recommand this HelpX! You have your own confortable room and bathroom, you can use the bicycles and go around Mackay by the boardwalk it was very good trip! We will not forget the whales around St Bees island, it was amazing! And the must you can listen to Phoebe and Immy play instruments music, it was a very nice memories!
No hesitating to contact them!
Thank a lot for all!
..............................
Helper: Edel and Marc
From: Spain
We stayed at Sally and David's house for one week, a magnificent queenslander that the family has been renovating with creativity for some years.
We helped them doing some painting on the facade and on the foyer. Our bedroom was fantastic, very big with some amenities (fridge, kettle, microwave and toaster) and a bathroom for our own. The breakfast and dinner were provided, Sally is a wonderful cook and David and the girls made some delicious deserts too!
The family is very friendly (also the dog and the choocks) and we had lots of fun playing games some evenings with the girls, Phoebe and Immy.
...................................
Helper: Miki Hatanaka
From: Japan
I have stayed with Sally, David, and their brilliant daughters for 5 days and really enjoyed. I'm not good at using English but they always tried to understand me. And I didn't expect such a comfortable own room which has a huge bed/ bath room/breakfast area/fridge/TV. Awesome!
My duty was cleaning rooms and I went to Blacks Beach and the city in my spare time. Sometimes Sally took me on little drives. And we played some games after dinner. Thanks!
......................................
Helper: Sonia and Romain
From: France
We stayed 6 days at David and Sally's place and we had a really good time.
Sally is a very kind and patient person, she made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. Our room was very clean and spacious, and we appreciated to have a private place where we could relax.
We did a bit of mulching and a lot of painting. The work wasn't hard at all. Sally and David were very respectful of our pace and trusted us from the beginning.
They took time to give us precise instructions and to show us beautiful places around. They even took us to see a firework, have dinner at the marina and for a picnic on the beach!
They are both very interesting persons and it was pleasant to learn from them about the history and the economy of Mackay, or the numerous countries they visited.
We have to say a word about their two wonderful daughters, Phoebe and Imogen. They are so funny, clever and open minded for their age! It's a pity we didn't have enough time to know them better.
We just highly recommand those host.
Thank you again!!!
Sonia & Romain
....................................
Helper: Myriam and Frank
From: France
We stayed 6 nights at Sally and David's house and we had a very nice stay. Sally and David were very kind to us, they include us in the life of their familiy and we had great evenings together (fire & marshmallows, games night,...). The two girls, Phoebe and Imogen, are very gentle, funny and it's very easy to talk and laugh with them.
David took us for a guided driving tour around Mackay which was great too. And dipsy the dog is lovely :)

The work wasn't too hard, we did painting as the house had had important works. Sally and David helped us when we had questions.

The accommodation is great and the dinners were very good ! We particularly liked Myriam's birthday dessert, as it was very nice from you :)
........................................
Helper: Valérie vgl
From: France
I spent ten beautiful days with the Wood family. The welcome was very warm. Sally and David did everything to make the stay pleasant. Sally made herself available to show me around Mackay and helped me plan the rest of my trip in Australia.
The accommodation is more than comfortable and independent with access to the pool. What more could you ask for?
I enjoyed the quality of our exchanges. The whole family made efforts to adapt their English for me.
Both daughters are adorable. Even the dog is endearing.
............................................
Helper: Paul and Daniella
From: United Kingdom
We were lucky to spend three weeks with Sally, David and their two wonderful daughters (plus Dipsy the dog). We initially were supposed to stay 3-7 days and were lucky enough to extend our time with them in order to complete a few of the projects which included sanding and varnishing wood doors, painting a set of windows, clearing the garden and oiling the decking along with a few other tasks. We really enjoyed the varied work along with the flexibility of when we could complete the tasks. The accommodation that was provided for us was beyond our expectations, very private and beautifully decorated and made our stay with Sally and David even more comfortable (and ultimately harder to leave!). We were lucky enough to be shown around Mackay and to meet other family members and were made to feel as if we too were part of the family. We now consider Sally, David, Phoebe, Immi and Dipsy our very special Aussie friends who we look forward to keeping in contact with for a very long time to come! We feel priviledged to have spent 3 weeks with this lovely family and would fully recommend anyone to complete a help exchange with them.
....................................................
Helper: Oyvind and Silje
From: Norway
We stayed with Sally and David for seven days and had a great stay. Our kids loved the company with the two girls. We were invited to different family events with the family and also met grandmothers and grandfather, which was great. The work was fine and we worked mainly in the garden. Both we and our boys miss the Wood family in Mackay already and we hope to meet again, maybe in Norway!
Thanks!
Oeyvind, Silje, Simen and Vetle
........................................
Helper: Lauren and Rebecca
From: United Kingdom
We spent a lovely three days with Sally, David, Phoebe and Imogen. The family were very friendly and welcomed us into their beautiful home. Our en suite room was fabulous by any hotel standards! Every evening Sally cooked us a delicious meal. We also had breakfast provided for us and our own fridge where we could keep our own lunch food. David took us for a drive around the local area and we visited a gorgeous beach. We also went to the lagoon for a birthday party! Phoebe and Imogen are two of the loveliest and most well behaved children we have ever met!
We loved playing in the pool with them (even if Santa and his ute was a new one for us!) We really enjoyed meeting such a nice family and only wish we could have stayed longer!

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please:

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top