Login

Forgot password
Cancel

Di & Ken - mature trustworthy couple

ID: v2q

Name:

Diane

Is / are:

A couple

Age group:

55 plus

Profession:

Retired plumber & civil servant

Preferred locations:

NSW QLD (full regions list)

Current bookings:

7 Dec 5 Jan'19

Reply rating:

5 stars

More Information

We are a mature reliable active couple with a wealth of life experience and as proud homeowners ourselves, we understand the concerns in allowing strangers into your home to care for your much loved pets and possessions. We can put your mind at rest by assuring you that we are a trustworthy couple who do not take this responsibility lightly.

Over the past five years we have undertaken a number of housesits, many through another website Trusted Housesitters and the remainder through private contacts and referrals. Our assignments have included rural and town properties in France where we have cared for dogs, cats, chickens and fish, English homes with dogs, cats and birds and several Australian homes.

We no longer have our own pets, something we miss, so relish the opportunity to care for your pets while you are away. You can enjoy your time stress free in the knowledge that your loved pets and homes are in safe and capable hands.

We are both British born and moved to Australia 25 years ago and have travelled extensively during that time both in Australia and Europe as we still have many friends and immediate family in England and France.

Ken is a plumber by trade but found his niche in the home handyman/property maintenance business, establishing a regular client base of homeowners who trusted and relied on him to maintain their properties and gardens, whether they were at home or away on holiday or business travel. His skills enable him to perform the majority of maintenance jobs in and around the home and garden.

Di had over 20 years working in the Qld government in the area of education and training in a range of roles ranging from operations manager of a large college faculty to training co-ordinator for apprentices, responsible for working with a variety of employers to arrange and monitor training for apprentices. Needless to say communication and organisational skills were high on the agenda, as was the requirement to find solutions quickly when problems arose.

We have no debts or commitments, are healthy, active and young at heart. We love to travel and explore new places and both have a love of animals. We are fortunate enough to have been able to take early retirement freeing us up to spend more time travelling and doing the things we enjoy.

Over the years our pets have been an important part of our lives and included chickens, ducks, geese, goats, birds, fish and our much loved cats and springer spaniels. In addition to our own pets we have often been entrusted by friends and neighbours to care for their animals over holiday periods, something we have always enjoyed. When our children were younger we became involved in short term fostering of puppies from the RSPCA animal shelter, to care for them until they were ready to find a new family.

As homeowners both in England and Australia for over 30 years we are fully experienced in looking after different types of properties, from Victorian terraced houses to our most recent home, a large semi-rural property with swimming pool and extensive gardens. We are now renting out this property so fully understand the worries and concerns you have. Obviously Ken's skills and experience have been invaluable in looking after and improving our own properties, he is very practical and seems to have the ability to fix just about anything in the house and garden.

Ken's clients in his property maintenance business have included houses big and small, courtyard gardens to large acreage gardens and several holiday resort complexes with swimming pools. His clients inevitably grew to trust him and over the years many have become friends. We have no doubt that his skills could be put to good use maintaining your home and garden and maybe tackling some of those jobs on your list that never quite get done.

Di through her working life acquired a high level of organisational and communication skills, dealing with a wide range of people. She is able to handle all sorts of situations calmly and efficiently and resolve any unexpected problems that may arise. If needed she is able to keep you updated via email or Skype and will happily arrange for mail forwarding or any other household tasks you may require.

We are an active, non-smoking couple who enjoy walking and plenty of outdoor exercise and are equally comfortable in both city and country. We are both music lovers and keen readers, when inside one of our favourite past times is scrabble (we do bring our own)!

We have provided a police check together with a selection of references and would be happy to put you in touch directly with our referees if you have any further questions.

Both our children now live back in Europe, one in England and one in France and between them they have 4 children. Consequently when we retired we decided to rent our property and travel overseas for 6 months of the year, enabling us to spend time with our children and grandchildren. Housesitting has given us the freedom to travel and spend time closer to our family and explore new places.

We are reliable and trust-worthy and treat other peoples homes and property with respect.

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top