Cannot login?

Experienced sitters - great references!

ID: jsa


Lindy and Rodney

Is / are:


Age group:

55 plus


Semi retired - artist and security technician

Years active:

3 years

Preferred locations:

NSW QLD TAS (full regions list)

Reply rating:

5 out of 5

More information about this house sitter

Update! - we are currently available to sit in South East Qld or northern NSW from 2 January 2020. Our ideal sit for this hot summer period includes minding at least one lovely dog ( because I miss having a dog of our own and enjoy the company so much!) as well as a pool and air con. Yes, we are fussy, but please understand we are going to provide the best possible care for your pet(s) in exchange for enjoying your home!

Update - as of the end of December 2020, we now come as a package of 3...Lindy, Rodney and a 2 year old desexed female Japanese Spitz called Kumi. She is lovely, clean, friendly, likes other dogs and is used to being inside. We would still like to housesit, so if you are happy to have her along as well, please do message us! 🐾🐾🐾🐾


Going away can mean stress and worry, after all, your precious home and furry ones need care, attention and affection! We know....we have been there!

My name is Lindy and my husband is Rodney. We are Australians, both in our fifties, and non smokers. We are very experienced house and pet sitters with lots of great references. We took early retirement in 2016 so we could indulge our love of travel and have completed more than 20 house and pet sits in Australia and also Canada, the USA and Asia.
We have found housesitting is an ideal way for us to spend longer in interesting places, allowing us to enjoy the comforts of home and the companionship of loved pets. Being trusted to mind someone's home and precious pets is a big thing, and we are very appreciative of that trust. Good recommendations and references are very important to us, so we promise to treat your home and pets with the utmost care and respect at all times.

We have been home owners for over 30 years and have maintained a lovely tropical garden as well. Our home had a large pool so we know what is required to keep it looking great. These days we have a low maintenance home outside of Brisbane where we live when we are not travelling. We are financially secure.
Until recently we have always had pets - inside only cats and a very special little dog. Now that we have none of our own, we love the opportunity to lavish some attention on other people's pets. We strongly believe in maintaining your usual schedule for your pets, so they feel secure and loved while you are away. The health and happiness of your fur babies is always our highest priority.

I'm quiet and level headed, and happy to spend time on my own. In fact, I like animals more than most people! Rodney is a little more gregarious, he loves to talk! He is also very handy and practical. Chances are that when you come back from your time away, all your knives will be sharpened and some of the other little odd jobs you have been putting off have magically been done! No promises, but he does like to keep busy....

My life has been filled with warm purring bodies and wet noses, and I have also had to deal with illness and old age in my animals, so I can be relied upon to cope with pretty much anything that might crop up. Having pets sleep with me is normal, so if that's what your fur kids are used to, I'm fine with it. Our cats were kept strictly inside only, so litter boxes etc are second nature to me. Cats that are allowed outdoors are fine, though I will worry over them! Some of the cats we have cared for on our housesitting travels have required medication and many have been very old too. I love them all!
I am an artist - I enjoy watching TV, reading, doing artwork and surfing the internet, all hobbies that mean I spend lots of time sitting, so your pets will have plenty of company. I sometimes draw or paint portraits of the pets we look after too.
Rodney loves long walks and the outdoors so dogs especially enjoy his company! Rodney also used to work with guard dogs in his security business, so he can handle strong, big breeds if needed.
Our previous dog, Sammi, a Pomeranian Corgi mix, loved to play ball and with toys, and I loved it too, so if your dog likes to fetch, I am going to be his best friend! Between us, I'm sure your fur kids will be well catered for and spoilt!
In the last 6 months, while we have spent a bit of time at home, I’ve been volunteering at a local Japanese Spitz rescue which has been very satisfying - I would like to bring them all home with me! LOL
Rodney and I have each owned our own businesses - I taught painting classes, and also used to work for a bank. Rodney ran a security business working with small electronics as well as guards, and he spent time in the army when young. We believe in honesty and integrity and we pride ourselves on our organisational skills. We are both responsible and reliable, neat and tidy and stick to our word.

We have been housesitting for 3 years and have a clean police check as well as many wonderful references and invitations to return. Some of our experiences include -

- caring for a cute dog and happy cat in their waterfront home with pool on the Gold Coast in Australia for a month.
- looking after 7 cats , including 2 who were 18 years old, for 3 weeks during winter in Blind Bay in Canada.
- taking care of a boisterous 5 year old Giant Schnauzer ( who thought he was a puppy!) for 10 days in Bend, Oregon.
- minding a lovely poodle /spaniel in his beachside penthouse in Penang, Malaysia.
- looking after an enthusiastic labradoodle and his Shetland sheepdog “brother” for 9 weeks at a luxury lodge in New Zealand.
Housesitting has taken us to some fabulous destinations - we have looked after several very beautiful residences in Asia, including supervising staff and of course, caring for the VIPs ( very important pets!)
Most of these housesits were arranged through other websites ( we are registered on 5 sites in total) so not all our references can be uploaded here, but I am very happy to email them to you, just ask!

Our own needs as housesitters are pretty simple - as we like to stream movies and surf the Internet , we require good Wifi ( preferably unlimited so we don’t risk using all of your data!). We are both quite tech savvy and will email updates and photos as often as you wish while you are away.
As I find summer heat hard to deal with, when we housesit over the hottest months, we prefer to stay in homes with air conditioning and a pool ( I love to do aqua aerobics!).
And, because Rodney tends to snore quite heavily, it's handy if we can use a second bed, so I have somewhere to escape to for some sleep! LOL
We are non smokers and only accept housesits in non smoking households. We very rarely drink any sort of alcohol.

During some of our housesits, we have been offered the use of a car and it has been so very helpful and appreciated especially when traveling to housesits by air. We each have clean police checks, driving records and international drivers licenses.
Of course, for local sits, we have our own vehicles.
Our travels are flexible and we are interested in both short and medium term assignments. Also we are happy to travel almost anywhere in the world, depending on our budget and schedule. I love cold climates so winter doesn't phase me, and Rodney enjoys skiing and snow shoeing. We both love to go fishing and of course, we enjoy sightseeing too.

I believe we have a lot to offer and we plan on being the best house sitters you have ever had, because this is how we want to spend the rest of our lives.
We will do everything we can to make your travels worry free and make coming home a pleasure.
Feel free to look me up on Facebook under my name Lindy Clarkson and I have a housesitting page called A Brush With Travel on Facebook too.
Please contact Lindy if you would like to talk to us about looking after your precious pets and home while you travel!

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please:

LoginorJoin our Home Owners