Login

Forgot password
Cancel

FEB '19 House/dog/cat/sheep/poultry!!

ID: feg

Name:

Martin

Is / are:

Male

Age group:

55 plus

Profession:

Retired Manager

Preferred locations:

All Australia (full regions list)

Reply rating:

5 stars

More Information

Hi,

I am offering myself as a house/dog/cat/sheep/poultry sitter!

I am originally from WA but I live in the Netherlands as I'm married to Sylvia, a Dutch citizen. I return to Australia in Jan-Feb most years & normally try to visit a different part of our beautiful country each time I return.

I'm retired (age 68) after a career that has seen me wandering the globe (details & CV available).

I'm looking for a 'sit' in Feb 2019- when the ''sitting'' would probably be mostly me alone as Sylvia, who is much younger than me, has work commitments then.

I've owned two dogs (a wire-haired terrier x standard schnauzer cross and also a kelpie x border collie cross) over the years & much enjoyed the experience. My wife inherited two cats when her parents passed away & they are now are fully integrated members of our family.

So, I'm a happy, healthy, solvent, reliable, non-smoking university graduate, ‘semi-cultured’ world-traveller. After all those years exploring the globe, I find this interest is not waning. I love exploring, but without having to stay in a hotel; I just want enjoy some peace and quiet.I am very active and if I'm asked to look after dogs, I'd walk them miles every day! I enjoy looking after pets and find pet sitting a therapeutic way to spend time relaxing.

What about the sheep & poultry! Well, 20 years ago, with a former partner (the daughter of a sheep farmer), we tried our hand at sheep rearing (mostly successful, but very time
consuming) & had a hobby farm with 80 poll Dorset ewes. These days, I do not now have the land- neither do I want the responsibility - of looking after sheep permanently, but would gladly do so again on a temporary basis. Also kept chickens & ducks, so happy to include poultry in the menagerie!

In April 2016, Sylvia & I 'dog & house sat' for Karen & Simon Bessell at Arborfield, UK.

In November 2016, I 'cat, chook & house' sat for Narelle & Stephen Walters at Tamworth, NSW.

In April 2017, Sylvia & I 'dog & house sat' for Fiona & Ed Paine at Aylesbury, UK - and, at their invitation, I'm sitting for them again, In Oct 2018.

In all cases, they were pleased with the way we looked after their animals and their houses. All three couples have said they will give very positive references by email, so I invite you to contact them to get, first hand, their views on how we performed. (Email addresses available on request).

Look forward to hearing you,

Thanks & regards,

Martin & Sylvia Tooley

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top