Login

Cannot login?
Cancel

Haus-sitter4u

ID: 2ba

Name:

Pauline

Is / are:

Couple

Age group:

55 plus

Profession:

Teacher of the Deaf (Pauline) & my partner (David) is retired

Years active:

2 years

Preferred locations:

NT (full regions list)

Reply rating:

5 out of 5

More information about this house sitter

I am a mature-aged, experienced house-sitter who is currently working as a teacher of the Deaf in Victoria.
As a non-smoking vegetarian with a non-smoking vegetarian partner, we are available for house-sitting in Darwin during the forthcoming school holidays (30th June - 20th July, 2019), as we are visiting the city to attend to family matters and see my daughter, who is a nursing sister who will be on holidays from remote NT. As I lived in Darwin for more than 10 years, the city is highly familiar to me and hence, I understand the physical reality of looking after property and taking care of animals in that environment. We are both mature-aged and are looking forward to being back in the tropics once again. David and I particularly enjoy walking dogs and regular activity - especially on the beach. I used to take my highly energetic dog to Casuarina Beach each day, mainly because she could run and play with other dogs and therefore, 'exercise to her heart's content'. This is probably something that I would do if we are to house-sit for people who have a dog (provided the dog is sociable) which needs daily exercise during the school holidays. We are both happy to walk a dog twice daily - but are not runners. We will also be adjusting to the weather after coming from a cold Melbourne, so are not able to do heavy gardening work. We may have my daughter's dog with us, but this would only be the case, if the home-owners' animals and my daughter's dog (an old blue heeler) were able to 'get on' (and provided that this could be determined beforehand). This could be determined beforehand because my daughter will be back in Darwin from the end of May until the end of June, 2019. She hopes to have a holiday after this, but it will all depend on various factors, including whether her old dog can stay with us during a house-sit.

My partner always shares house-sitting responsibilities with me and as he used to an 'A Grade mechanic', flying instructor and a sheep & wheat farmer, practicality is his forte - just as mine is, only on a different level. We both enjoy looking after houses and pools/spas, in addition to watering plants and taking care of animals in the tropics.

In the past, I did regular house-sits in Darwin, but as a return to Melbourne was warranted in order to support my parents, short trips to Darwin for house-sitting has mostly occurred during school holidays in the past few years. I still consider Darwin to be 'home', however, and remain close to a number of friends and family in Darwin.
I have also retained memberships of various organisations - therefore, my partner and I continue to maintain a strong interest in the Territory.

We are happy to do 2 or 3 week house-sits (but not any shorter than these) as time is required to get to know any property and home-owners' animals. In the past, I have looked after various animals (but not all at the same time), including: dogs, cats, horses, donkeys, ducks, chooks, turtles, guinea pigs and fish. The house-sits have mostly occurred in Darwin, although most of these jobs were some time ago. We also have a couple of people in Darwin who could verify our reliability - including several people whose house-sits we have done in the past. I could ask these people whether they would be happy to provide phone references to any prospective home-owners, but I don't believe that any of them would refuse.

Personally, I have maintained rental property in Victoria near my work location in Victoria over the past few years - even though my partner has his own home in a different location and I also have a property elsewhere.

My partner and I are happy to water plants, but do not undertake heavy gardening, as this is best done by someone with the right equipment and appropriate experience.

Please text/email in the first instance, if you wish to discuss house-sitting with us. We are planning to be in Darwin as soon as possible after the Victorian School Term 11 ends on June 28th, 2019 - after which, I am taking some extra LSL time at the end of the Victorian School Holidays. By this means, we can be available for the entire 3 weeks of the NT school holidays.

Notably, David and I are both 'house-proud' and highly responsible - hence, house-sits are always taken care of, just as if they are our own.
Thank you.
Kind Regards,
Pauline ('hausitter4u')

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please:

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top