Login

Forgot password
Cancel

Loving all creatures - great and small

ID: vl6

Name:

Victorine

Is / are:

Female

Age group:

55 plus

Profession:

Editor/Equine Touch Practitioner

Preferred locations:

QLD Gold Coast, Logan and Redlands

Current bookings:

15 Feb 31 Aug

Reply rating:

5 stars

More Information

Animals were already a huge part of my life when I was a child. I was either riding a horse or pony belonging to friends or family, or helping out with the care of our cats (and we had 40! at some stage). As soon as I could earn some pocket money to be able to pay for my own animals, I started breeding and showing different breeds of rabbits, and also kept miniature goats, chickens and guinea pigs.

After high school I moved to England, where I worked as a groom and rode and took care of steeple chasers and hunters. Back in the Netherlands, I met my husband who of course is also a great animal lover. We soon 'filled' our house with 5 cats and an Alsation who unfortunately died far too young.

Although 'officially' I became a teacher of English and music (piano) and later a translator, I decided to follow as many courses and studies in the field of animals as possible. You can find more about my experience in looking after animals and the courses I followed in the section ´My experience´ below.

Between 1993 and 2015 we moved around the world a fair bit, always accompanied by our animals and adding more to our menagerie of cats, dogs and horses. Our final stop was Spain, and there three rescue puppies found their way into our home and hearts in 2017.

Why I want to house sit
We regularly travel between Spain and Oz to meet up with old friends, meet new ones, and most importantly, to see our two geldings Gulliver (28) and Fari (25) who were too old to travel to Europe with us in 2011. We LOVE taking care of animals, and there is simply no better way to meet new furry or non furry, 4 or 2 legged creatures than by offering our love as pet sitters!

My experience
I studied for the Diploma Kennel and Cattery Management (L.O.I. Leiden), gained two certificates in Dog Training at the Martin Gaus Institute in the Netherlands, a Basic Diploma in Veterinary Homeopathy from the British Institute of Homeopathy, and together with my husband, studied Equine Touch (a soft-tissue modality) and we became Qualified Equine Touch Practitioners in 2014 and MSFC Saddle Fitting Consultants in 2016.

I took care of other people´s dogs and cats while our own animals were in quarantine in Hawaii en route to New Zealand and also helped a breeder of Golden Retrievers and Norwich Terriers while she recuperated from an operation. In New Zealand I did some dog showing, dog grooming and training, while in Australia we had a small livery yard.

Back in Europe, we were frequently asked by friends and relatives to house sit for them and in recent years we have been helping out friends in Australia by house sitting for them while they were on holiday.

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top