Login

Forgot password
Cancel

Mr and Mrs Trusted and Reliable

ID: jsf

Name:

Pam and David

Is / are:

A couple

Age group:

55 plus

Profession:

Travelling on the road to nowhere

Preferred locations:

NT QLD All regions except Brisbane North, Darling Downs and South West, Gold Coast, Ipswich and west Moreton SA VIC All regions except Melbourne City WA (full regions list)

Reply rating:

5 stars

More Information

Hi, we are a young at heart couple in our sixties who, in September 2014, walked the Camino in Northern Spain, some 850 kilometres. In November of 2014 my husband decided to give up work and we prepared to sell our home, which we had lived in for 25 years. Some five years previous we had talked about buying a caravan and joining the multitudes “living the dream” seeing more of Australia; now we are doing just that.
After selling our home in Sunnybank, Brisbane in June 2015, we first travelled to Lightning Ridge, NSW. A month on the road and some teething problems, we headed back to Queensland to my sister-in-law's and parked the van on her seventeen acre property.
My husband is a very good handyman and he helped his sister with lots of maintenance and structural work in return for our keep. Welding, installing and painting fences. Putting in a washing hoist, Building a car port, as well as doing other repairs. He can put his skills learnt working in the sheet metal industry, to any handy work and enjoys being outside in nature.
Before retiring, when we sold the house, we both worked – my husband full time as a Sheet Metal Tradesman, with a part-time job at the RSL club driving the courtesy bus.
I came to Australia from England and met my husband. After we married I operated my own clinic as a natural therapist for 16 years. Six years prior to travelling, I worked with a company in Home care. Being the longest serving employee, I also became the recruitment officer and undertook the training of new staff members. I visited the elderly and disabled in their homes, helping them with personal hygiene, cleaning, taking trips to hospital and shopping. I loved my work helping people and making their day a little brighter. I was given many award certificates by my company. I took a number of courses to further my education in this field, as I did in the Natural healing industry, I have, during this work held Police Checks and both Blue Card and Disability cards (yellow).
Both my husband and I are animal lovers and we had a little dog called Shanti who was with us for 13 years until sadly she developed a tumour and was put to sleep in November 2011. I found Shanti wondering on a busy main road. I was always finding strays and seeing that they were returned to their owners. Shanti just didn’t have a home to go to so she stayed with us and we had a very loving relationship. I would never leave Shanti in Kennels when we travelled. We had very good friends and neighbours and she was always cared for. When Pet sitting became popular I engaged a lady to look after Shanti and our house, while we went to England to see my family. It has always been in my mind to do the same for someone else and I have often been called upon by friends and family to help mind their pets while they were away. Most recently, caring for the chooks and ponies of my sister--in-law.
At the end of 2015 we headed north to Cairns and began 8 months of travelling to Alice Springs, down the centre to SA, then to WA. Coming back over the Nullabor to SA, Victoria, NSW and back to Brisbane. 2017, Next trip Darwin. We housesat for 6 weeks and looked after Marty dog and Austin cat both oldies . We enjoyed our experience so much we now look forward to visiting you if you would invite us.

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top