Login

Cannot login?
Cancel

THE ONE OF US

ID: gnw

Name:

DOUGLAS & MARJORIE

Is / are:

Single

Age group:

55 plus

Profession:

RETIRED

Years active:

3 years

Preferred locations:

All Australia (full regions list)

Reply rating:

5 out of 5

More information about this house sitter

Australian Citizen born in the UK emigrated 1972
Douglas 77
Non smoking and drinking drugs defiantly not, only from the chemist!!
We have been married for 56 Years and have two children and four G children ranging in age from 6 to 21
Douglas left school at 15 and served an apprenticeship in the steel works as a welder
Left steel works at 21 after completing apprenticeship entered the local Fire brigade as a full time paid fireman after 2 years found he could not manage on the wage as he had married
Left and joined the local Ambulance Service as a ambulance officer for 6 years rising to the rank of leading officer before emigrating to Australia in 72.
After doing odd jobs and working for the local Frankston Council he joined the Peninsula ambulance Service Frankston Victoria at the end of 72 and was with them until 77 when we moved to Shepparton area until 2001 when he retired as a station officer to take care of Marjorie.
Have had 2 small farms 5 acres, then 42 acres on which we finished of our transportable house from lock up stage and set up the 42 acres that was just a paddock when we bought it in 1990 also planted many trees, did fencing.
During this time we bought young calves and reared them until sold for meat, sheep for the colored wool, also had chucks, a goat and other animals including pet dogs, several. Our son bred and showed Border Collies. the only animals we have not cared for are horses (I have had a coupe of horse riding holidays) and cats. We only sold the 42 acres because Marjorie was very sick and needed to be in the town or we would still have been on the land !! Since then we have moved to a retirement village and have had a quiet 10 years traveling around the globe and the last few years using Air B&B accommodation were you stay in folks houses and have had no problems at all living in other folks homes.
Marjorie has been admitted to a nursing home in Benalla Douglas sold up in the retirement village and is living in a 5th Wheeler mobile home on a caravan park in Wangaratta 30minutes drive from Benalla. The reason for Marjorie being admitted to a nuirsing home is that she had a fall last year wheile we were house sitting and spent 6 mths in different hospitals down the East Coast of Australia being treated for a fractured spine so her house sitting days are over. The fall was a culmination of all of her health problems especially osteoporosis.
In the past she has been able to travel around the world in the last 20 years a couple of times and recently we had a cruise to Japan for 33 days which she took in her stride. All this has stopped since August 2019
Have completed our first house sit 3/8/16 - 12/8/16 in the Hunter valley NSW on a farm with 40+ cattle to keep an eye on and 2 horses also a very delight full boxer dog called Archie. Water the garden when required mostly pot plants.
Owners Wayne & Georgina were pleased with our stay.
Our second sit was for a longer period 16/9/16 - 8/10/16 further north in NSW near Bowraville on a small farm looking after 3 steers, 15 sheep, 15 chucks, 6 pea hens, 2 geese, 3 turkeys and a delightful dog called Chille who enjoyed all day chasing the ball around the garden, there was gardening duties mainly watering pot plants and owners Colin and Elsie were pleased with our work.
We have just completed a short sit over the Easter week end 2017 looking after 2 senior dogs at Seaford Victoria, very relaxing. Returned in September after 3 months taking care of a blind dog and a younger cat as well as a 5 year old house in Harrington NSW and the owners seemed to be happy with our work.
In 2018 we locked after a house and 2 border collies in Toowoomba for 3 weeks and than moved on to the gold coast were we locked after 2 dogs and house
2019 house sit at Bundaberg were Marjorie had the fall meaning we had to cancel a sit near Sydney.
I would still like to house sit or farm sit with my mobile home so would not need accommodation just services etc. Hope to hear from any one.

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please:

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top