Login

Cannot login?
Cancel

Time to slow down and laugh more

ID: 12lx

Name:

Sandy

Is / are:

Couple

Age group:

55 plus

Profession:

Ambulance Office and retired teacher

Preferred locations:

ACT NSW NT QLD TAS VIC (full regions list)

Current bookings:

14 Mar 3 Jul

Reply rating:

5 stars

More information about this house sitter

Time to slow down and laugh more

John and I have decided that this is our time, and we are taking a few ‘grey’ gap years. After both having worked long hours for many years, I working 12 hour shifts days and nights plus travel, and John working +-60 hour weeks, we are looking to spend quality time together, slowing down to smell the flowers and laugh a little more.

We sold up everything we owned, and what we can fit into 2 suitcases is what we own. We started this journey in September 2019 and so far have spent time in Bangkok, Koh Chang, China, a 12 day cruise around the south China seas, Singapore and time in South Africa to catch up with family. Our next stage, for now, includes Australia and then Bali for a month. We are planning on going to Malaysia after that, but nothing has been cast in stone yet as we wait for house\pet sitting opportunities to determine where our journey takes us.

We are originally South African but left in 2001 to live and work around the world with our two young sons. We have lived and worked in the USA, Bangkok and China with my husband teaching Science in state and International Schools. We eventually settled in New Zealand. John has officially retired from education (deputy principal of a boys’ school). I am an ambulance officer on a casual contract with the St John ambulance service here in NZ and am taking a break from that while we travel. Our boys are grown up and married. John volunteered for the ambulance service to spend some time with me while I worked, hence the photos where we are both in ambulance uniforms.

I have only recently discovered this whole new world of house-sitting and have only just begun to look into it. We both plan to work online in the future, but for now we are healthy and financially secure to cover our expenses. I have also started doing our DNA family tree and welcome the time to focus on it.

The big bonus for us doing house with pet-sitting is that we will have animals as a part of our lives again. Before we started this adventure, we had to put our two 15 year-old sick kitties down, and we miss them terribly. We have both grown up with a variety of pets, and both our sons are managing dairy farms with dogs of their own which we periodically have looked after (or spoilt as my sons would say). We have also both helped out on the farms, from working with the cows to calf rearing. John was also actively hands-on involved in the sheep farm that the school had on the premises.

At this early stage of looking into international house sitting, we have no official experience. Having said that, we have looked after friends houses and pets, plus we have owned our own home and rented homes. We do have references from friends who we have 'house\pet sat' for together with some character references that are on another website. I am more than happy to supply a copy.

We are very private people and not social butterflies, preferring to live quiet lives. Having lived in many big cities, we have become accustomed to living in smaller communities, choosing a slower lifestyle over a social, busy, rushing one. We like to live in a clean and tidy environment, and don't do well in a cluttered one. John likes to potter around and fix things and I like to cook, am very houseproud and will potter around in the garden. Other than that, we are pretty boring people. What this means for you as a pet owner, is that we will be spending more time at home with your pets. We love Asian street food and are very adaptable to our surroundings.

We are looking for sits longer than 2-3 weeks, and would welcome long sits. I hope that this introduction gives you some insight into who we are. Please feel free to ask any questions.

Sandy and John Mattisson

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please:

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top