Login

Forgot password
Cancel

We treat your home like our own

ID: a4c

Name:

Ray & Fenella

Is / are:

A couple

Age group:

55 plus

Profession:

Retired

Preferred locations:

ACT NSW Sydney North, Sydney South, Sydney West and Blue Mountains, Central Coast, Hunter, Illawarra, South East NSW WA Perth North, Perth South, South West (full regions list)

Current bookings:

2 Sep 28 Dec 6 Jan'20 5 Apr'20 20 Apr'20 30 Sep'20

Reply rating:

5 stars

More Information

Who we are

Our lives both as homeowners and in international professional travel, as well as travelling for pleasure, all bring a breadth of specific skills and experience. This is highly relevant to you in having every confidence we would care for your home as we have cared for our own over the years.

We are active 71 year-olds enjoying a healthy life style, non-smokers, happily married for 27 years. Between us we have Australian, British and Canadian citizenship and have lived in Manitoba, Canada all our married life. Following retirement, Ray completed a master’s degree and it is his further research and writing that originally brought us to Australia, where we have house-sat in numerous places along the east coast of NSW.

Ray chose Sydney for a variety of reasons, partly because of previous study, but also because of a love for Australia, the culture and way of life. For Fenella, it is the Australian landscape and nature that has already inspired her textile art, and with which she is already engaged.

Why we want to house sit.

Over the past twelve years we shared our home with international students, 48 in all from many parts of the world, and found it an engaging and very positive experience. Using AirBnB extensively when travelling has also taught us about living in and sharing other people’s homes. From both sides, we have experienced what it means to value another’s property and care for it impeccably. Equally we have learnt the riches of sharing and trusting.

Then we began house sitting, which has taken that to another level of experience, of treating property as if it were our own, of living in a community.

What we bring to the assignment/relevant experience

Ray is the handyman; Fenella is the gardener. We bring the experience of renovating two character homes, also redesigning and creating gardens from almost wasteland.

We bring the experience of sharing our home over 12 years, of knowing the meaning of disciplined routines of cleaning and gardening, of loving a home and maintaining it to a high standard.

We both bring excellent references, good health, resourcefulness and reliability, and a sense of adventure. We have a love for animals and nature. (We were fortunate to find a wonderful home for our lovely ginger cat, Saffron, when we first went to live in Australia.)

Fenella brings the experiences of working as an Occupational Therapist in Britain, the U.S, Canada and India for nearly 40 years; of commitment and the ability to face challenges as well as relate with people from many cultures and backgrounds. She loves community but now seeks a slower pace, a rural area, beauty that will inspire her work and maybe share with people locally.

Ray brings a love for Australia having lived in Sydney (at which time he became an Australian citizen) and subsequent visits over the years. He brings an ability to communicate and negotiate from his years responsible for consultation between his union and his government department. In retirement, Ray became the Regional representative for the Canadian Catholic Organization for Development & Peace (sister to Caritas Australia), and in 2014 was elected its President, a position he held until coming to Australia to carry out his research.

We are confident that we can care for your home and pets as you want it and them cared for, leaving you free to travel confident that all is in good hands.

Should you wish to discuss the opportunity in more detail, or to find out more about us, we would be happy to call you by phone or by skype.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top