Login

Forgot password
Cancel

Caring for pets, gardens & properties...

ID: 4be

Name:

Grant

Is / are:

Male

Age group:

55 plus

Profession:

Retired Scientific Glassblower

Preferred locations:

All Australia (full regions list)

Reply rating:

1 stars

More Information

Grant is experienced in looking after properties, gardens, and pets in Sydney and NSW areas far to the south, west and north. He is happy to water gardens and loves animals and the outdoors. He was a scientific glassblower and has had police checks for Sydney Heritage Fleet maritime organisation and ANMM museum volunteer work (including working with children), house-sitting and the WWCC for working with children. Plus he has references from grateful NSW homeowners and pet-owners. Grant, who grew up in New Zealand, has lived in the ACT and NSW. He is a dual citizen of both Australia and New Zealand (his great great grandparents lived in Kiama in the 1850s where his Great Grandmother was born in 1863 and married in 1881). He was a scientific glassblower for about 40 years. Now retired, Grant likes to occasionally write poetry & prose and loves to read a good book. He enjoys folk music, bluegrass, Classical music, jazz, and blues etcetera but generally likes it at a quiet level to protect his eardrums and be to be able to be contemplative and meditative. He has car driving, boat and motorbike licences but he doesn't currently own a car, instead relying public transport to get around. Lately he has been volunteering and driving for St John and is a St John Hospital Friend in Thames, New Zealand. Of course, if you'd like him to drive your car, or ride your motorbike etc., whilst on assignment to assist with pet-minding, obtaining provisions, house-sitting, farm-work etc., he is quite capable of that. He has ridden quite a number of horses over the years at riding schools and on horse treks, farms, etcetera. Grant has a social democratic viewpoint to life and over the years has volunteered his time, energy, and resources to many worthwhile social causes and voluntary organisations such as the Australian National Maritime Museum, Youth Hostel Association, Headway, the Electoral Reform Coalition, the Sydney Heritage Fleet and St John. In the SHF, he has been a crew member of the James Craig Tall Ship, Steam Tug Waratah, Steam Vessel Lady Hopetoun, Motor Schooner Boomerang, and Motor Vessel Harman. Grant has numerous technical & academic and other qualifications and skills. He did the General Purpose Hand (GPH) qualification in 2010 for Australian maritime work, studied for an RSA Certificate (Responsible Serving of Alcohol), an RCG Certificate (Responsible Conduct of Gambling), White Card etcetera. He completed Certificates in Liberal Studies, Labour Studies, International Relations, Sports History and Arts then a double major BA in History & Politics. It was a diverse degree including Classics, Music, Drama, Creative Processes, Political Theory, Medieval History, German History (and art movement periods), Videotaping, History and Film. He donates what he can of his financial resources, and time and energy resources, to good causes and has, until recently, actively supported his adult children (Zoë and Liam) who are developing their respective careers. He takes his roles in house-sitting and pet-minding, and looking after gardens etcetera, in a serious manner and reads on topics such as dog care. A while back he read The Truth About Dogs. He has looked after dogs (Flash, Toby, etcetera) and cats (Fluffy, Holly, Snoopy, Kittu), mice, and birds. In the past he had numerous cats such as Snoopy, Fluffy and Holly. Of course, the saying goes that `dogs have owners, cats have servants'. He likes to ponder a bit and meditate, to contemplate and have loving kindness towards others and nature and aims to have mindfulness and good karma in how he lives his life... all the while maintaining good humour and a positive view to life…Is that really me? Yep!

All of the very best of health & happiness to you, cheers. Grant aka "Curly".

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top