Login

Forgot password
Cancel

Retired and travelling couple

ID: yae

Name:

John and Bee

Is / are:

Couple

Age group:

55 plus

Profession:

Butcher, events manager, seamstress, blogger

Preferred locations:

SA TAS VIC Melbourne North, Barwon South West, Grampians (full regions list)

Reply rating:

5 stars

More information about this house sitter

We will be available from 6th Jan 2020 to mid Feb in South Australia, then we will be leaving for Tasmania late Feb 2020

We will be in Tasmania for roughly 3 years - leaving 2013.

We don't mind what we look after, how remote or busy. By Jan 2020, we'll have had 5 sits - farms, houses, businesses - with a variety of 4 legged animals, pools, birds, fish, orchards. As long as there's room for our van πŸ‘

Mid 2018 We decided to chuck in the rat-race and retire early. Absolutely loving it! It suits our quiet, social personalities.

John was a Butcher, well known for his cooking skills and advice in North Adelaide. A keen fisherman and loves walking our golden Labrador.
Bee was an Events Manager / EA - a keen bike rider. She also keeps her very popular Tick of Yum Facebook page active with tips, recipes and advice.

Currently we're "earning" a little pocket money by doing mobile knife sharpening (That's John, he leaves them so sharp we leave bandaids with the invoice πŸ˜†) and sewing (Bee is also a seamstress - she can make or repair anything - having a heavy duty machine means that includes canvas or leather)

We love animals and our dog (2.5yo lab) does too. Cats are no problems as she was "raised" by a cat and we often laugh at her as she washes her face as cats do.

While we were sitting a sheep farm, she wasn't interested in chasing the sheep or the various forms wildlife - typical Labrador, she'd rather sleep. She's now met 4 different groups of dogs, varying from the accepting to the territorial - she just goes with the flow and fits in, doing what the "boss" dog allows her to do.

We are both non-smokers and have had experience with swimming pools and spas - John had been looking after them in our home (before we sold it obviously) for 30 years. Me? I enjoyed the swimming but did the mowing and gardening as John worked long hours and wasn't home during the day.

John also has had extensive experience with tropical fish tanks and birds in aviaries.

We have a 4wd Ute, and a 21.5' caravan and have everything we need in the caravan, so usually only go in the house if requested. For instance, at one house we'd leave the mail we collect in the home-owner's office - and only use the wet areas (shower, loo, washing machine).... In an other we were requested to stay in the house to keep the pets company. We're easy! (as it snowed while we were there, we were happy to be inside πŸ˜‚)

We consider any home/farm/property we look after to be a privilege, and we look after it how the owner wants it to be looked after, leaving it exactly the same as how we found it.

Some house sitting positions we've had:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
πŸ‘Trundle NSW. 2.5 month farmsit where the nearest town is 30ks away - we loved it! Bee took their 4 dogs for a 1-3 k walk in the mornings, John in the afternoon. Their dams are relatively OK so we watered a large garden and a collection of trees regularly, with mowing when necessary. Their mail box is a couple of ks away and we collected that 3 days a week.

πŸ‘Bathurst, NSW, 5 days, 2 dogs, 50 acre property.

πŸ‘ Orange, NSW, 2 weeks. 2 dogs, 6 chooks, 2 Parrots, 1 owl, 3 Galahs, 2 Pidgeons.

πŸ‘ Nashdale NSW, 2 dogs, 15 acre property.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
πŸ‘Œ Here's one reference, others available.....

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN

We have had the absolute pleasure of having John and Bee House Sit our 960 Acre Property the last 2 1/2 Months, out of Trundle NSW....
Our House and yard kept maintained, our Working Dogs were in great Condition.
Sheep πŸ‘ were all where they should be .... 😊
Mail collected and place inside the House.....
You could not ask for a more
enthusiastic and Trusting Couple. πŸ€—
We had a beautiful morning Tea when we arrived back, and also Dinner cooked ... Unreal......
If there are any questions that may arise, please Contact us on... (provided on request

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please:

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top