Login

Forgot password
Cancel

Retired animal lovers

ID: 117w

Name:

Rita

Is / are:

Couple

Age group:

55 plus

Profession:

Retired

Preferred locations:

All Australia (full regions list)

Current bookings:

18 Dec 31 Dec

Reply rating:

5 stars

More information about this house sitter

Hi, we are both ex pat British, we live six months on Australia and six months in Europe, Non Smokers, both retired in our early 60s, fit, healthy and house trained.

We are new to this site but can provide f many references of jobs we have carried out in the past two years

For a number of years we ran our own business and decided in 2017 to stop work and enjoy life a little.

Gary is sports mad, football, rugby and golf, we both love travelling, Rita loves cooking, keep fit and swimming.

We enjoy a healthy lifestyle and the odd glass of red wine.

We have two grown up children and two lovely grandchildren. Alas, no pets anymore

Having had dogs for over 30 years, it was a terrible day we lost little Ellie, our beloved Labradoodle, we had her for 16 years, she was one of the first ever Labradoodles released by The Australian Guide dogs association in 2000. We were living in Australia at the time.

She was our first pup, before that we always had rescue dogs, which has its own challenges as they were all older dogs , two Dobermans and a Lab, over 15 years, they all gave us great love and affection which we hope they got back ten times over.

We see house/pet sitting as a great way to bond with animals again whilst we travel, we also prefer staying in homes to hotels which can be impersonal. We would look after most animals, even farm animals on a small scale

Having a house of our own which is rented out, we know how important it is to get the right person/ couple who will treat your home as their own and we would give the house the same care and attention as we would our own, including a bit of gardening, small maintenance jobs and pool cleaning if required. We will always leave as we find.

We own a property in both Australia and the UK, and spend time doing maintenance on them all , Gary can turn his hand to most jobs when required and Rita is a great home carer.

We have done many sitting gigs now and just love it, here are a few of the jobs.

Jill, in Mullaloo, Western Australia, we looked after her house and two dogs, Kenny a Big sausage and Charlotte a Bassett Hound.

Vicki in Hillarys, Western Australia, we looked after the house, a very welcome swimming pool and Archie, a cross Staffy/Jack Russell.

Gill, in London, big four bedroom house and two cats, Jasper and Cinders

Denise, Mullaloo, Western Australia, House, swimming pool, Garden, two cats, Freddy and Sam and a do, Levi, over Christmas 2018 and again Easter 2019

Tina, Chives, France, Big Country house, Three great dogs and cat, massive garden, pool, during July 2019

We have also in 2019 carried out two double dog site, one in West Wycombe, one in Chippenham, both UK and a two cat sit in Switzerland.

As previously mentioned, we are dog lovers, but love all animals, both of us had pets as children and we had dogs and cats during 90% of our marriage so far and one day we plan to have a dog again.

We love walking and taking dogs out and just having animals around.

Any pet with us would get 100% love and cuddles you can be sure of that.

Some reviews
Denise - Mullaloo, Western Australia, Australia
22 Dec 2018 - 12 Jan 2019

Gary and Rita house and pet sat for us for three weeks. I cannot recommend them enough! Before the sit, they were very easy to communicate with and after we met them we felt very confident that they would take good care of our home and three pets. Our pets (2 cats and one dog) are all rather needy as they are used to lots of attention and cuddles. They were all very happy when we got back and greeted Rita and Gary with great enthusiasm when they returned later to drop off the house key. The house was left in an immaculate state, the pool was all in order and they did a fantastic job of watering our plants and garden (not easy in our hot weather). They kept in touch with us throughout the sit and messaged through pics and videos so we could see the pets were well. We would definitely have them back to house sit again and I cannot recommend them highly enough.

Tina - Aulnay, France
13 - 24 Jul 2019

As soon as I met Gary and Rita I New that I had made a very good choice.They were lovely ,my dogs took to them straight away and they didn’t even get upset when we left . They looked after my house and kept my garden watered during a very hot spell .mowed my lawns and looked after my pool . I couldn’t rate them more and hope to have them back again ,not just for my dogs but also to spend some more time with them ,such a kind ,interesting thoughtful couple ,fantastic.

Susan - Chippenham, United Kingdom
13 Sep - 4 Oct 2019

What a lovely couple! We both felt really at ease in their company as soon as we met and more importantly so did the animals.... especially our dogs. I cant express enough what it means to be able to go away on holiday confident in the knowledge that your precious animals ( and home!!) are being lovingly cared for. It meant that we could relax and enjoy our time away. Whilst we were away Gary and Rita kept in contact with frequent photos and messages which meant so much to us. We would recommend Gary and Rita to anyone considering Trusted Housesitters. We really hope that we will remain friends and would be delighted if Gary and Rita were able to sit for our furry family again in the future. Thank you both!

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please:

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top