Login

Forgot password
Cancel

Animal loving, Canadian Professional

ID: ujh

Name:

Jessica

Is / are:

Female

Age group:

18 to 25

Profession:

Full-time office hours in South Melbourne

Preferred locations:

VIC All regions except Barwon South West, Gippsland, Grampians, Loddon Mallee (full regions list)

Reply rating:

5 stars

More Information

Intro:
I'm a 24 yo Canadian living and working in Australia for a gap-year before going back to school to do a masters in Occupational Therapy. My background is in healthcare but I am currently working Mon-Fri 9:30-5:30pm doing admin in an office in South Melbourne. I am happy to travel "home" for lunch if pooches/pets have small bladders (hehe). I have had a difficult time finding work since coming to Australia because of the 6 month work restriction on my visa, and as such was unemployed for quite a few months. I'm hoping to find a house to sit somewhere close enough to the city to commute, in order to save some money (rent is SO expensive in Australia!!) and pay off some travel debts now that I am working full time again. I am hoping to eventually find my own place to settle in here more but am hoping to do some house sitting for now as a means to an end until I can earn a few paycheques at work and be a little more stable financially. I'm looking for a place to move into ASAP as I just got back to Melbourne and am in between places, but will accept messages about future bookings as well. Ideally I would like to stay for longer term sessions (2 weeks-months preferred) so I don't have to relocate often, but will accept shorter bookings depending on my situation.

A little more about me:
I have a degree in Human Kinetics and specialized in neuro-rehabilitation. I am interested in continuing my studies focusing on brain injuries, but took an unexpected turn this past year. I somehow managed to get into medical school although I never hoped to practice medicine, was told I couldn't turn down the amazing opportunity by everyone around me, tried it, hated it, withdrew after giving it a go for a year, and now found myself in Australia for a gap year (before going back to do the masters I should have originally chosen )and pursuing my interests once again. I am incredibly easy-going and social, and describe myself as an "extroverted introvert" as I love being out with others but do enjoy my alone time as well. I like to get out for walks to explore (hopefully with pups) and get out with friends- but also love having quiet nights in, watching Netflix or taking a bubble bath. I have a horrible travel bug I can't seem to shake that seems to be costing me an arm and a leg (I've been to 23 countries so far). In Aus I have done a trip through WA, NT, and Queensland- but I do call Melbourne my home!

Pet sitting:
I have always been an animal lover, mainly dogs but I love cats too and am comfortable with any other pets that may need tending to (birds, rabbits, etc.). I always had large dogs growing up (german shepherd, black lab) and was doggy deprived when I moved away for uni so I have a lot of experience in dog sitting as I watched pups casually for 5 years while being a student. I also volunteered as a fundraising and events coordinator for a dog rescue specializing in special needs and senior pups so I am comfortable giving any medication/special attention to any animal that has any dietary requirements or that need extra care. I'm incredibly responsible and take all of my commitments seriously so I will never let you or a loved one (pet or plant) down if you count on me for anything (whether it be walking, feeding, watering, medication, etc.).

I'm happy to meet for a coffee or wine to chat or am available for a quick phone call to set up a viewing/meeting. Thank you for your consideration!

Jess

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top